What I Learned from the Cloud: St. David of Wales

What I learned from David of Wales, filtered through Paul’s writing to Timothy…

Have something to say in the face of the lies of the culture.
Saint David took a stand against the heresy of Pelagianism.
Paul wanted Timothy to know what he was talking about – read 1 Timothy 1:3-7

Following Jesus in the days that we live means being a student of what’s going on around you.  Having a wide view of what’s important and what’s being talked about and having something to say on just about every topic out there…what you say doesn’t have to be profound…it doesn’t have to get you installed as the next leader in the church…but it might…and that would be OK. 

Know who your partners are.
Saint David famously encouraged the Welsh to wear leeks in their hats to they could tell friend from foe on the battlefield.
Paul goes to great length to teach Timothy the difference between partners and antagonists – read 2 Timothy 4:9-13

I think there’s something to wearing leeks.  We just need to figure out how to do it in our day.  A lot of times, I just like to put it out there…especially with people that I’ve just met or that I barely know.  So many times, so many people that I meet act like they could be following Jesus…I usually just ask them…I say, “you sound like a person who is actually following Jesus…are you?…because I am.”  You’d be surprised at the number of times that the response has been, “Yes” or “I’m trying.”  And when the response is “No,” usually it’s totally cool.  I’ve actually found that people are pretty flattered when you compare them to Jesus, even if they’re not into him.  I think it’s OK to put yourself out there…we don’t have a whole lot to lose.  It’s good to have a sense of who’s rolling with you.

There’s value in having good mentors.
Saint David’s last works were, “Be joyful.  Keep the faith.  Do the little things that you have heard and seen me do.”
Paul says the same thing to Timothy, reminding him to keep the faith and continue in the pattern he’s seen demonstrated – read 2 Timothy 1:13-14 and 2 Timothy 3:10-15

I learned from David that I need to pay attention to who is influencing me and what I am being influenced to be and do.  I can only follow so many people well…and I ought to know who they are.  So I have a list of mentors.  People that I see and interact with with some regularly; people that I see and interact with rarely but specifically; and people I don’t know but who have written extensively, who I dedicate large chunks of time to learning from; they are all my mentors.  As I make disciples, I need to be discipled.  And I apply myself to that.  If I want to be joyful, if I’m going to keep the faith…I have to follow the example that’s gone before me.

Leave a Reply

